Desktop CNC routers · updated 1 November 2026
Desktop CNC routers, compared from the makers' own spec sheets
35 hobby machines from 10 makers, from $219 to $10,390. Every figure links to the maker's page with the date it was read. Gaps say Not published, never a guess.
- 35 machines
- 10 makers
- 12 need a router
- 41 spec notes
Machines
35 machines
-
FoxAlien
Masuter Pro Max 2x2
600×600 · Z n/p · Drive n/p
- ✓ Spindle included
$899.99
$1,000sale price -
FoxAlien
Masuter 3S
400×400 · Z95 · Drive n/p
- ✓ Spindle included
- Closed-loop
$999.99
$1,100sale price -
SainSmart
PROVerXL 4030 V2
400×300 · Z110 · Ballscrew
- ✓ Spindle included
- Closed-loop
$1,399.00 maker's price
-
FoxAlien
XE-PRO
400×400 · Z95 · Ballscrew
- ? Spindle not stated
- Closed-loop
$1,399.99
$1,500sale price -
Sienci Labs
LongMill MK3 30x30
813×813 · Z117 · Leadscrew
- ✗ Router not included
- Closed-loop
$1,400.00* currency not stated
-
Makera
Carvera Air
300×200 · Z130 · Ballscrew
- ✓ Spindle included
- Enclosed
$1,999.00
$2,699sale price -
Onefinity
Gen 2 Elite Woodworker
838×838 · Z178 · Ballscrew
- ✗ Router not included
- Closed-loop
$2,195.00
$2,437sale price -
MillRight CNC
Mega V 2 (19x19)
483×483 · Z133 · Mixed
- ✗ Router not included
- Closed-loop
$2,599.00 maker's price
-
FoxAlien
CL-4x4
1220×1220 · Z100 · Ballscrew
- ? Spindle not stated
- Closed-loop
$2,899.99
$4,600sale price -
MillRight CNC
Mega V 2 XL (35x35)
889×889 · Z133 · Mixed
- ✗ Router not included
- Closed-loop
$2,999.00 maker's price
-
Sienci Labs
AltMill MK2 4x4
1245×1245 · Z140 · Ballscrew
- ✗ Router not included
- Closed-loop
$3,160.00* currency not stated
-
Carbide 3D
Shapeoko 5.1 Pro 4x2
Area n/p · Z n/p · Ballscrew
- ✗ Router not included
$3,550.00 maker's price
-
Sienci Labs
AltMill MK2 2x4
1245×635 · Z140 · Ballscrew
- ✗ Router not included
- Closed-loop
$3,890.00* currency not stated
-
Next Wave CNC
Shark HD520
1270×635 · Z178 · Leadscrew
- ✗ Router not included
$4,250.00
$5,000sale price -
MillRight CNC
Mega V 2 XXL (50x50)
1270×1270 · Z133 · Mixed
- ✗ Router not included
- Closed-loop
$4,449.00 maker's price
-
Inventables
X-Carve Pro 4x2
1219×610 · Z102 · Ballscrew
- ? Spindle not stated
$4,995.00
$5,995sale price -
Inventables
X-Carve Pro 4x4
1219×1219 · Z102 · Ballscrew
- ? Spindle not stated
$7,495.00 maker's price
-
Sienci Labs
AltMill 4x8
1265×2640 · Z210 · Mixed
- ✗ Router not included
- Closed-loop
$10,390.00* currency not stated
Photos are the makers' own, shown from their sites with credit; where there's none, an original drawing built to the published work area stands in. "Price per sq ft" is price ÷ X × Y work area, a rough measure that ignores rigidity, Z, enclosure and what's in the box.
Tools for choosing
Finder
Six questions about budget, work size, space and what you want in the box.
On your bench
Lay up to three machines on your bench at true scale.
Cost to start cutting
Listed price plus a sourced router where one isn't included.
Head-to-heads
Two-machine pages, paired by size and price.
Side by side
Sizes in millimetres. — means the maker doesn't publish it. Swipe the table sideways →
| Machine | Price | X | Y | Z | $/sq ft | Drive | Spindle incl. | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SainSmart 3018-PROVer V2 | $219 | 290 | 180 | 40 | $390 | Leadscrew | Yes | — |
| SainSmart 3020-PRO MAX V2 | $399 | 300 | 205 | 78 | $603 | — | — | — |
| SainSmart 4040-PRO | $599 | 400 | 400 | 78 | $348 | Leadscrew | Yes | — |
| SainSmart 3020-PRO Ultra | $599 | 300 | 205 | 78 | $905 | Leadscrew | Yes | — |
| FoxAlien Masuter Pro | $600 | 400 | 400 | 60 | $348 | — | Yes | 1 year |
| Two Trees TTC450 Pro (500W) | $628 | 460 | 460 | 80 | $276 | — | Yes | 1 year |
| Two Trees TTC450 Ultra | $699 | 460 | 460 | 100 | $307 | — | Yes | 1 year |
| FoxAlien Masuter Pro Max 2x2 | $900 | 600 | 600 | — | $232 | — | Yes | 1 year |
| SainSmart 4040-PRO MAX | $949 | 400 | 400 | 78 | $551 | — | Yes | — |
| Onefinity Apprentice | $995 | 419 | 419 | 133 | $527 | Ballscrew | No | — |
| SainSmart PROVerXL 4030S | $999 | 400 | 300 | 120 | $773 | Leadscrew | Yes | — |
| MillRight CNC Carve King 2 | $999 | 438 | 438 | 102 | $484 | Leadscrew | No | 180-day parts warranty |
| FoxAlien Masuter 3S | $1,000 | 400 | 400 | 95 | $581 | — | Yes | 1 year |
| Makera Z1 | $1,249 | 200 | 200 | 100 | $2,901 | Leadscrew | Yes | 1 year; 30-day returns |
| SainSmart PROVerXL 4030 V2 | $1,399 | 400 | 300 | 110 | $1,083 | Ballscrew | Yes | — |
| FoxAlien XE-PRO | $1,400 | 400 | 400 | 95 | $813 | Ballscrew | — | 1 year |
| Sienci Labs LongMill MK3 30x30 | $1,400 | 813 | 813 | 117 | $197 | Leadscrew | No | 365 days |
| Two Trees TTC6050 | $1,599 | 600 | 500 | 100 | $495 | Ballscrew | Yes | 1 year |
| SainSmart PROVerXL 6050 Plus | $1,799 | 600 | 500 | 115 | $557 | — | Yes | — |
| Makera Carvera Air | $1,999 | 300 | 200 | 130 | $3,095 | Ballscrew | Yes | 1 year |
| Onefinity Gen 2 Elite Woodworker | $2,195 | 838 | 838 | 178 | $290 | Ballscrew | No | — |
| MillRight CNC Mega V 2 (19x19) | $2,599 | 483 | 483 | 133 | $1,035 | Mixed | No | — |
| Carbide 3D Nomad 3 | $2,800 | 203 | 203 | 76 | $6,312 | — | Yes | 1 year |
| FoxAlien CL-4x4 | $2,900 | 1220 | 1220 | 100 | $181 | Ballscrew | — | 1 year |
| MillRight CNC Mega V 2 XL (35x35) | $2,999 | 889 | 889 | 133 | $353 | Mixed | No | — |
| Sienci Labs AltMill MK2 4x4 | $3,160 | 1245 | 1245 | 140 | $189 | Ballscrew | No | 120 days |
| Carbide 3D Shapeoko 5.1 Pro 4x2 | $3,550 | — | — | — | — | Ballscrew | No | 1 year |
| Sienci Labs AltMill MK2 2x4 | $3,890 | 1245 | 635 | 140 | $457 | Ballscrew | No | 365 days |
| Next Wave CNC Shark HD520 | $4,250 | 1270 | 635 | 178 | $490 | Leadscrew | No | 2 years |
| MillRight CNC Mega V 2 XXL (50x50) | $4,449 | 1270 | 1270 | 133 | $256 | Mixed | No | — |
| Makera Carvera | $4,799 | 360 | 240 | 140 | $5,160 | Ballscrew | Yes | 1 year |
| Inventables X-Carve Pro 4x2 | $4,995 | 1219 | 610 | 102 | $624 | Ballscrew | — | 1 year |
| Carbide 3D Shapeoko HDM V3 | $5,700 | 690 | 610 | 145 | $1,258 | Ballscrew | Yes | 12 months |
| Inventables X-Carve Pro 4x4 | $7,495 | 1219 | 1219 | 102 | $469 | Ballscrew | — | 1 year |
| Sienci Labs AltMill 4x8 | $10,390 | 1265 | 2640 | 210 | $289 | Mixed | No | 365 days |
Work areas to scale
New to CNC? Start here
5 min read
How a desktop CNC router works, from drawing to cut
Six steps sit between an idea on screen and a groove in a board. Here's what each one does.
2 min read
Work area, travel and footprint: the three sizes on a CNC spec sheet
A machine with a 400 mm work area can take up nearly three times that much bench. The numbers from the spec sheets in the record.
3 min read
Leadscrew vs ballscrew: how a CNC router moves
Two ways of turning a motor's spin into straight-line motion, and which machines in the record use each.
Buying guides by budget
2 min read
Desktop CNC routers under $500
Every desktop CNC router in the record priced under $500: what the money buys on paper, which leads on each published figure, and what you'll still need.
3 min read
Desktop CNC routers from $500 to $1,000
Every desktop CNC router in the record priced between $500 and $1,000: what the money buys on paper, which leads on each published figure, and what you'll still need.
5 min read
Desktop CNC routers over $1,000
Every desktop CNC router in the record priced over $1,000: what the money buys on paper, which leads on each published figure, and what you'll still need.
4 min read
Desktop CNC for small shops, spare rooms and garages
Footprint, weight and enclosure for every machine whose maker publishes them, and what the spec sheets leave out.
3 min read
Moving up from a 3018: what the next machine adds on paper
The 3018-PROVer V2 against every machine in the record up to $1,500: how much more work area, Z, drive and spindle you get.
Spec notes
Places where a maker's page gives two different answers to the same question, found while copying the figures. Worth confirming with the maker before you rely on them. More on what these are.
Show all 41 spec notes
- SainSmart 3018-PROVer V2: The spec table lists the offline controller as "Optional" and the purchase options sell it separately, but the FAQ says the machine "comes with an offline controller".
- SainSmart 3018-PROVer V2: The intro says assembly takes "less than 35 minutes"; the spec table says 20-35 minutes.
- SainSmart 3018-PROVer V2: The discount badge says -18%; the savings line says "Save 19%".
- SainSmart 3020-PRO MAX V2: The spec table names the driver chip "TB67S109"; the text says "Toshiba TB6S109".
- SainSmart 3020-PRO MAX V2: The spec table lists six limit switches (X+, X-, Y+, Y-, Z+, Z-); the "What's in the box" list has "1x Limit Switch (X&Y-axis)".
- SainSmart 4040-PRO: The spec table gives Z as 78 mm (3.1 in); the feature text gives 3.31 in.
- SainSmart 4040-PRO: Assembly: the spec table says under 20 minutes; the feature text says about 15 minutes.
- SainSmart 3020-PRO Ultra: The meta description says ball screws; the body says T8 lead screws.
- SainSmart 3020-PRO Ultra: The meta description says linear guide rails; the body says polished rods.
- Two Trees TTC450 Pro (500W): The price is shown as both regular and sale price.
- Two Trees TTC450 Pro (500W): Tool diameter is 0.5-7 mm in one place and 0.5-6 mm in another.
- Two Trees TTC450 Ultra: The spec table and comparison chart give 460 x 460 mm; the feature list says 600 x 500 mm.
- Two Trees TTC450 Ultra: A 216W power supply and 80W maximum consumption are listed alongside a 500W spindle.
- SainSmart 4040-PRO MAX: The footprint is given as 660 mm and as 26.98 in. 660 mm is 25.98 in, so one of the two figures is wrong.
- SainSmart PROVerXL 4030S: The meta description says "ball screw drive"; the spec table lists T-screws on every axis.
- SainSmart PROVerXL 4030S: The body says "130mm Z-Axis Pass Height"; the spec table says 120 mm.
- SainSmart PROVerXL 4030S: The title says "with Vectric Software"; Vectric appears only as a paid bundle option.
- Makera Z1: The spec section says Makera Studio is "available free to all Makera users"; the marketing section says the one-click CAM is "Available late this year".
- Makera Z1: Resolution is given as 0.02 mm / 0.0008 in in the spec table and 0.02 mm / 0.0004 in in the FAQ.
- SainSmart PROVerXL 4030 V2: Max speed is 8,000 mm/min in the page description and 5,000 mm/min in the spec table.
- FoxAlien XE-PRO: The spec table lists a 400W spindle, but the package list doesn't include one.
- Sienci Labs LongMill MK3 30x30: Weight: the description says about 72 lb assembled; the "Additional information" section says 50 lb.
- Two Trees TTC6050: The page says ball screws; its comparison table lists T8 and trapezoidal screws without saying which model has which.
- Two Trees TTC6050: The base price is shown as "Regular price $1,599.00" in one block and "Regular price $1,999.00 Sale price $1,599.00" in another.
- SainSmart PROVerXL 6050 Plus: One section describes a hybrid spoilboard; another lists MDF spoilboards.
- Makera Carvera Air: The FAQ says the machine will be "available late this year"; the product page shows it in stock.
- MillRight CNC Mega V 2 (19x19): The description says "6 inches of Z stroke"; the spec table says 6.25".
- Carbide 3D Nomad 3: The warranty section on the Nomad 3 page refers to "Shapeoko".
- FoxAlien CL-4x4: The page says it "can fit standard full-sized sheets without cutting them"; a 48" x 48" area can't hold a 4 x 8 ft sheet.
- FoxAlien CL-4x4: The spec table lists a 400W spindle, but the package list doesn't include one.
- MillRight CNC Mega V 2 XL (35x35): The description says "6 inches of Z stroke"; the spec table says 6.25".
- Carbide 3D Shapeoko 5.1 Pro 4x2: The spec page (carbide3d.com/shapeoko/shapeoko5pro-specs/) shows the "Machine Travel" and "Machine Footprint" rows as placeholders, "(X) x (Y)", for every size.
- Next Wave CNC Shark HD520: The SKU is 10024-BUNDLE in one place and 10024 in another.
- Next Wave CNC Shark HD520: The page says "Out of stock" but still offers purchase options.
- MillRight CNC Mega V 2 XXL (50x50): The description says "6 inches of Z stroke"; the spec table says 6.25".
- Makera Carvera: The package selector says "Carvera Standalone" while the note under it describes the "Carvera 4th Axis Module (Harmonic Drive Version)".
- Carbide 3D Shapeoko HDM V3: The meta description, the overview and the comparison table list different materials.
- Inventables X-Carve Pro 4x4: The regular price is $6,995 in one block and $7,495 in another.
- Sienci Labs AltMill 4x8: Weight is 87 lb in one place and 400 lb in another.
- Sienci Labs AltMill 4x8: Power is 120VAC 4A in one place and 110VAC / 48VDC 10A in another.
- Sienci Labs AltMill 4x8: The machine is described as both partially and fully pre-assembled.
Changes since the first reading
No changes yet. Every page was first read on 1 November 2026.
When a maker changes a price or a spec, the old figure stays here with the date the change was noticed.
























